Whistlers Campground

Photo: Christoph Strässler from Oberdorf BL, Schweiz, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Jasper's largest campground and the main RV base for the park, with full hookups, power sites, hot showers and evening programs. The 2024 wildfire burned much of the surrounding forest, so expect an open, recovering landscape, with new wildlife fencing going in from fall 2026. It's a short walk or bike ride into town.
Family-friendlyBikingPlaygroundDark skiesPet-friendlyBig-rig friendly
Nearby: “A trail running through the campground means it's an easy walk or bike ride to town.” (Parks Canada page)
Why these tags? (sources)
- Family-friendly: “A family trip to the iconic Whistlers Campground has something for everyone: a playground for the kids.” Parks Canada page
- Biking: “A trail running through the campground means it's an easy walk or bike ride to town.” Parks Canada page
- Playground: “A playground for the kids.” Parks Canada page
- Dark skies: “In 2011, the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada designated Jasper National Park as a dark-sky preserve.” Wikipedia: Jasper National Park
- Pet-friendly: “Your pets must be leashed at all times and not left unattended.” Parks Canada page
- Big-rig friendly: “Can accommodate most sizes of motorhomes and trailers.” Parks Canada page
Please note:
- After the 2024 Jasper wildfire, Whistlers is surrounded by burned forest, and Parks Canada plans to install wildlife fencing around the campground in fall 2026.
Cost
Typical cost per night: about $47 (approximate average of the listed rates, before extras)
| Unserviced with showers | $34.00 |
|---|---|
| Unserviced with showers, with fire pit | $47.75 |
| Electrical | $40.00 |
| Electrical, with fire pit | $53.75 |
| Full service | $47.25 |
| Full service, with fire pit | $61.00 |
Jasper fees are published by service category, not by campground; the category was matched to the site types listed for this campground. Jasper's camping page says firewood is included in camping fees (the 'with fire pit' rates).
Source: official rates page. Rates checked October 2026, confirm before booking.
Campground details
| Park | Jasper National Park |
|---|---|
| Operator | Parks Canada |
| Location | Just south of the Town of Jasper, connected to town by trail. |
| Season | 2026: May 6 – Oct 12 (2026 dates; they change yearly and with weather) |
| Site types | Unserviced, Power, Full hookups 781 sites: full service and electrical (15/30/50 amp), unserviced, walk-in; plus 17 oTENTiks |
| RV length | Accommodates most sizes of motorhomes and trailers. |
| Showers | Yes |
| Sani-dump | Not stated |
| Flush toilets | Not stated |
| Other amenities | Showers included in fee, Playground, Interpretive programs, Bear-proof lockers, Gift shop |
| Reservations | Parks Canada Reservation Service (online or 1-877-737-3783) Book or check availability |
| Official page | parks.canada.ca |
Details are from the official/operator pages listed above, checked October 2026. Seasons, rates, closures and rules change; confirm with the operator before you go. Check fire bans and road conditions. Explore: Jasper National Park, Maligne Lake & Maligne Canyon.





